11 min read ·
How to Choose the Right Group 124R Battery for Your Car
Compare listed CCA, reserve capacity, warranties and prices, then verify dimensions, polarity, hold-down, chemistry and exact-vehicle fitment.

Do not buy an automotive battery solely because its listing says 124R. First confirm the exact year, make, model, engine, trim, and battery application. Then compare the candidate with the battery installed in the vehicle. The correct choice must meet every physical and electrical requirement—not simply offer the lowest price or highest cold-cranking rating.
The short answer: confirm fitment before buying any 124R battery
A 124R label narrows the search, but it does not prove that a battery fits your car. Battery Council International classifies automotive batteries using fit-related characteristics such as dimensions, terminal arrangement, performance, chemistry, and other physical features. Manufacturers and retailers use those classifications to cross-reference replacement applications, but you still need vehicle-specific fitment data.
Use this verification sequence:
- Read the installed battery label. Note the group, voltage, chemistry or construction, CCA, reserve capacity, terminal type, and terminal arrangement.
- Check the vehicle’s service information or an exact-vehicle battery lookup. Enter the complete year, make, model, engine, and trim.
- Confirm the battery position. Some lookup systems distinguish between primary and auxiliary batteries.
- Compare the recommended application with the candidate battery. Check its dimensions, posts, polarity, hold-down design, chemistry, and electrical ratings.
- Inspect the battery compartment. This is especially important if the installed battery may not be the original or correctly specified unit.
An incorrectly sized battery may be impossible to secure, may leave the cables unable to reach, or may sit high enough to contact the hood. Reversed polarity can damage wiring, computers, and other electrical components, while inadequate cranking output can prevent reliable cold-weather starting. These are fitment and electrical-safety issues, not cosmetic differences. AutoZone’s battery-size guide explains the risks of incorrect size, cable reach, and polarity.
The cited BCI material does not include a complete universal specification row for Group 124R. Consequently, dimensions taken from an individual product listing must be treated as specifications for that product—not as absolute limits for every battery carrying a 124R label.
What the 124R designation tells you—and what it does not
124R is a BCI automotive battery group designation used by manufacturers and retailers to organize replacement fitment. It indicates that a battery was designed around a defined set of physical and performance characteristics.
That interpretation appears in owner discussions, but the supplied BCI material does not define an official viewing perspective for 124R. Do not translate the suffix into a universal “positive terminal on the right” rule without checking the product specification or looking directly at the battery from the correct orientation.
A group designation is also not vehicle-fitment approval. An exact vehicle configuration may impose requirements for:
- Minimum cold-cranking amps
- Reserve capacity or amp-hour capacity
- Flooded, EFB, or AGM construction
- Terminal type and polarity
- Case dimensions and hood clearance
- Hold-down ledge or clamp engagement
- Cable reach and routing
- Primary versus auxiliary battery use
The BCI assembly document lists Group 124 in its extracted assembly information, not Group 124R, and does not include a complete dimensional or performance row for 124R. It therefore does not establish that Group 124 and Group 124R are interchangeable.
124R battery comparison: specifications, warranty, and listed price
The following prices, terms, and availability signals were observed on September 11, 2026. Retail prices, rebates, core charges, inventory, delivery options, and warranty processing can vary by date and location.
| Product and condition | Electrical and construction details | Product-specific size and terminals | Warranty, listed price, and purchasing limitations |
|---|---|---|---|
| Continental 124R-P, new | 12V; flooded lead acid; 600 CCA; reserve capacity not listed | 10.38 × 7.00 × 8.62 in.; 44.4 lb; terminal details not stated in the cited information | 18-month warranty; $149.99. The page said “In stock” while also showing delivery and local pickup as unavailable. |
| Exide SPRINTER MAX SX124R, new | 12V; six-cell, maintenance-free lead acid; exact flooded, EFB, or AGM construction not stated; 700 CCA; reserve capacity not listed | Dimensions, weight, and terminal arrangement not stated | Price and warranty not stated in the cited information. Local prices and inventory may vary. |
| Duracell 124R, new | 12V; maintenance-free lead acid; exact flooded, EFB, or AGM construction not stated; 700 CCA; 860 CA; 100-minute reserve capacity | Dimensions and weight not stated; right-positive DIN top posts | 36-month free-replacement warranty; no listed price in the cited information. Shipping, pickup, and delivery were unavailable. Club purchasing and warranty processing may require membership or an in-store visit. |
| ACDelco Silver 124RS, new | 12V; maintenance-free sealed lead acid; exact flooded, EFB, or AGM construction not stated; 630 CCA; 750 CA; 130-minute reserve capacity | 9.9 × 6.8 × 8.6 in.; 37.7 lb; SAE top posts | 36-month free-replacement warranty; $129.99 plus a refundable $10 core charge; in-store purchase only. The advertised $115.69 value depended on a $14.30 mail-in merchandise-credit rebate valid through September 13, 2026. It was not an immediate checkout discount. |
| Interstate M-124R and MTP-124R marketplace offers, listed as new | Both listing titles claimed 12V and 700 CCA; construction and reserve capacity not stated | Dimensions, weight, and terminal details not shown in the cited results | M-124R: $194.95 and 18-month warranty. MTP-124R: $244.95 and 30-month warranty. Each showed $9.99 delivery. These are marketplace listing claims, not independent test results. |
| Battery Guyz reconditioned 124R, reconditioned | 12V lead acid; exact flooded, EFB, or AGM construction not stated; 750 CA; 120-minute reserve capacity; conflicting 600- and 700-CCA statements | Approximately 10.375 × 7.0 × 8.625 in.; 44.4 lb; top posts | 12-month exchange warranty; $59.99. The page conflicts over whether the battery is pickup-only or can be shipped. Confirm both output and fulfillment before ordering. |
The two Interstate products displayed ratings based on only one and three reviews, respectively. Those samples are too small to support a meaningful product-quality ranking. Their specifications and warranty terms should also be treated as marketplace listing claims rather than independently verified performance data.
The reconditioned Battery Guyz battery is not directly comparable with the new products. Its price is lower, but it has an exchange remedy rather than the longer free-replacement terms advertised for some new batteries. Its conflicting CCA and fulfillment statements also require confirmation before purchase.
There is no universal winner in this comparison. Complete specifications are not available for every product, and no independent durability test covering all six options is provided. Exact-vehicle fitment remains the first filter.
How to compare CCA, reserve capacity, and warranty
Cold-cranking amps, or CCA, indicate cold-start capability. A battery can lead on one measure and trail on the other.
Start by meeting the vehicle manufacturer’s minimum starting requirement. CCA deserves particular attention in cold climates, where an under-specified battery may struggle to crank the engine.
The Duracell and ACDelco listings illustrate why CCA should not be considered in isolation:
- Duracell: 700 CCA and 100 minutes of reserve capacity, according to the Sam’s Club product listing.
- ACDelco: 630 CCA and 130 minutes of reserve capacity, according to the Menards product listing.
The Duracell has the higher listed cold-start rating, while the ACDelco has the longer listed reserve capacity. Neither difference makes one battery automatically better for every vehicle or buyer. The correct priority depends first on the vehicle’s minimum specifications, followed by climate, accessory demand, availability, warranty, and total cost.
Compare the warranty remedy as well as its duration. A 36-month free-replacement warranty is materially different from a 12-month exchange warranty on a reconditioned battery. Before paying, ask:
- Where must a claim be made?
- Is the original receipt required?
- Is the remedy a replacement, exchange, refund, or prorated credit?
- Must the battery be returned to the original store?
- Could taxes, disposal charges, or a difference in current retail price be due?
Warranty length and advertised CCA do not prove which product will last longest. Without comparable independent durability testing, those numbers should be treated as purchasing terms and rated specifications—not longevity rankings.
Vehicles associated with 124R batteries
Continental’s application table associates its 124R-P with selected configurations of these vehicles:
- Hyundai Sonata
- Hyundai Tiburon
- Hyundai Elantra
- Kia Magentis
- Kia Sportage
- Kia Amanti
- Kia Optima
Those examples cover selected model years within 2001 through 2014, but the listed applications vary by year, engine, and primary-battery use. The table is not a complete compatibility list. Seeing “Sonata” or “Sportage” in it does not mean every year, engine, or trim uses a 124R.
A December 2016 Kia forum thread identified 124R with at least 660 CCA for a 2015 Kia Sorento EX. That is an unverified owner post, not OEM-confirmed fitment. The same discussion considered Groups 24F and 35, but it did not establish those groups as approved substitutes.
Use vehicle service information or a current exact-vehicle lookup before buying. Model name alone is insufficient; the lookup should account for year, engine, trim, and battery position.
Can a 24F or Group 35 replace a 124R?
Physical tray fit is not enough to prove that a 24F, 35, 47/H5, 48/H6, or 51R battery is a safe substitute for a 124R. A different group may sit in the tray yet have the wrong polarity, incompatible posts, inadequate hold-down engagement, insufficient hood clearance, or cables that reach only when stretched or rerouted.
Forum participants have reported installing or considering Group 24F and Group 35 batteries in vehicles believed to use 124R. These are individual anecdotes, not authoritative compatibility evidence. A reported fit in one vehicle does not establish safe installation in another year, engine, trim, or battery compartment.
Use this decision table before considering any alternate group:
| Check | What must be verified | Stop if… |
|---|---|---|
| Case and clearance | Tray length and width, battery height, surrounding components, and hood clearance | The case overhangs, rocks, sits at an angle, or approaches the hood |
| Securement | Hold-down ledge, clamp, bracket, and original hardware engagement | The battery cannot be fixed firmly in its intended position |
| Connections | Positive and negative post positions, terminal type, cable routing, and reach | Polarity differs or either cable must be stretched, crossed, or forced |
| Electrical requirements | Minimum CCA, suitable reserve capacity, voltage, and application | A required rating is unknown or below specification |
| Vehicle requirements | Permitted chemistry, charging compatibility, battery position, and applicable warranty conditions | Authoritative vehicle-specific approval cannot be established |
Marketplace search results are not substitution charts. A search for “124R car battery” may display Group 47/H5, 48/H6, or 51R products, but their inclusion in the results does not make them compatible replacements.
Unless authoritative vehicle-specific information approves an alternative, retain the manufacturer-specified group and required battery type. Incorrect size, terminal orientation, or cable reach can create mechanical and electrical hazards even when the case appears to fit the tray. AutoZone likewise advises matching the factory group size, orientation, capacity, and terminal configuration.
A pre-purchase checklist for a 124R battery
Before paying at a store or placing an online order, verify every applicable item.
Vehicle and fitment
- [ ] Exact year, make, model, engine, and trim entered in the lookup
- [ ] Primary or auxiliary battery application confirmed
- [ ] Vehicle service information checked where available
- [ ] Installed battery label inspected
- [ ] Product-specific length, width, and height compared with the compartment
- [ ] Terminal type confirmed
- [ ] Positive and negative post positions visually matched
- [ ] Cables reach naturally without stretching, crossing, or rubbing
- [ ] Original hold-down clamp or bracket engages correctly
- [ ] Adequate hood and component clearance remains
- [ ] Battery meets the required minimum CCA
- [ ] Reserve capacity is suitable for the application
- [ ] Flooded, EFB, or AGM construction is identified
- [ ] The vehicle permits that battery construction and charging profile
Price and purchasing terms
- [ ] New or reconditioned condition identified
- [ ] Warranty duration and remedy understood
- [ ] Warranty-claim location confirmed
- [ ] Proof-of-purchase requirement checked
- [ ] Refundable core charge included in the initial budget
- [ ] Membership requirement checked
- [ ] Rebate restrictions and expiration date read
- [ ] Installation eligibility confirmed
- [ ] Delivery, shipping, or local pickup availability verified
- [ ] Taxes and other fees included
Calculate the immediate purchase cost as:
Advertised price + core charge + tax + delivery + installation − immediate discounts
Treat mail-in rebates and future merchandise credits separately. They do not reduce the amount due at checkout unless the retailer applies them immediately. A refundable core charge also increases the initial payment even if it is later returned after you surrender an eligible old battery.
Call the seller before traveling or ordering when a page contains contradictory stock, shipping, CCA, or technical information. Prices and inventory are local and time-sensitive, and an online “in stock” message may not mean that delivery or pickup is available at your selected location.
The best 124R option is the new or reconditioned battery that satisfies the vehicle’s complete fitment and electrical requirements while providing acceptable reserve capacity, warranty terms, availability, and total cost. Do not install it if polarity, securement, cable reach, clearance, permitted chemistry, or required starting performance remains uncertain.
Are Group 124 and Group 124R batteries interchangeable?
Do not assume they are interchangeable. The cited BCI material lists Group 124 but does not provide a complete 124R specification row or establish equivalence between the two. Verify the exact vehicle application and compare the candidate battery’s terminal arrangement, dimensions, hold-down, chemistry, and electrical ratings.
Does the ACDelco 124RS name indicate a different battery size from 124R?
Not according to the retailer’s specification table. “124RS” is the ACDelco model name, while the listing identifies its BCI group as 124R. The additional S does not by itself establish a different physical size or technical standard.
Are AGM or EFB Group 124R batteries available?
The Continental product is specifically identified as flooded lead acid. The cited Exide, Duracell, ACDelco, and Battery Guyz pages use broader lead-acid descriptions but do not confirm an AGM or EFB 124R construction.
That does not prove AGM or EFB 124R batteries are unavailable; it means these particular listings do not verify one. By default, a BCI group size assumes lead chemistry with flooded technology, while EFB and AGM variants receive additional designations BCI Group Sizes | Battery Council International. Check the exact product specification and confirm that the vehicle permits that battery type before purchasing.